Yaşar University

Established in 2001, Yasar University has quickly become an ideal environment for research, personal development and learning by its 9 faculties (Law, Economics and Administrative Sciences, Engineering, Communication, Art and Design, Science and Letters, Architecture, Business and Humanities), 2 graduate schools, vocational school, EU Research Centre, Open and Distance Learning Centre, Knowledge & Technology Transfer Office and Continuing Education Centre. Yasar university serves 9403 students in total including 1269 associate degree students, 7294 undergraduates and 840 graduate and postgraduate students. The University has a workforce of 438 academic and 294 administrative staff. Over 62 degree programs are offered in its departments and institutions with English as the medium of instruction for most of the programmes.

Since 2005, Yasar University has participated in over 85 EU funded projects, established international partnerships and developed strong links with business sector and other universities. Currently, Yasar University is involved in 20 EU funded projects in Erasmus+, FP7 and HORIZON 2020 Programmes as coordinator and partner institution. The university is coordinating two Erasmus+ KA2 Strategic Partnerships in the field of Higher Education and Youth. The university also participates in six Erasmus+ KA2 Strategic Partnerships as partner organization. It was the recipient of Horizon 2020 Programme European Researchers’ Night Project for 2016 and 2017, a partner in two FP7 projects on energy efficiency, a Horizon 2020 project on optimization techniques in architecture and holds four Erasmus+ Jean Monnet Modules in the fields of migration, project management European cultural identity and media. Yasar University is also an accredited European Voluntary Service organization and implement EVS projects within the framework of Erasmus+ programme on a regular basis as a sending and coordinating institution.

In addition, Yasar University is triggering academic studies on EU in the region by actively using EU funding programmes. Assoc.Prof.Dr.Aylin GÜNEY, at International Relations Department of Yasar University was awarded with Jean Monnet Chair in 2011. Assist. Prof. Dr. Ayselin YILDIZ, Assist.Prof.Dr.Mehmet KAHYAOGLU, Assist.Prof.Dr.Gökay ÖZERIM, the Director of EU Center, and Assoc.Prof.Dr.Huriye TOKER were awarded with Jean Monnet Modules in 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017 respectively. Yasar University European Union Research Center has also carried out the secretariat for “Academic Network for European Studies (A-NEST)” in 2016. A-NEST is a platform supported by the EU Delegation to Turkey, which aims to create a network where the academics of EU studies can exchange developments in EU academic studies, EU-Turkey relationships and share news, announcements and, publications.